Skip to main content
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Home >   New Section

Jennifer Lewis
3D Printing: Making the Future

The Fall 2015 Donoho Colloquium

5:00 PM, Monday, October 19, 2015 
Filene Auditorium, Moore Hall, Dartmouth

Free and Open to the Public
Reception to follow


3D printing enables one to rapidly design and fabricate materials in arbitrary shapes on demand.  Professor Lewis will introduce the fundamental principles that underpin 3D printing techniques and will describe how new functional, structural and biological materials are vastly expanding the capabilities of 3D printing.  She will highlight several examples from her lab, including the ground-breaking 3D printed vascularized living tissues.



View the talk



Biographical note

Jennifer Lewis

Jennifer A. Lewis, Ph.D.

Hansjörg Wyss Professor of Biologically Inspired Engineering
School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Harvard University

Jennifer A. Lewis joined the faculty of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences and the Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering at Harvard University in 2013. An innovative pioneer, she leads a vibrant research group that develops new materials and 3D printing platforms for fabricating functional, structural, and biological architectures and devices. To date, her research has resulted in nearly 30 patents and 150 papers. Her work on microscale 3D printing was recently highlighted as one of the “10 Breakthrough Technologies” by the MIT Technology Review.  She is a co-founder of two companies, which are commercializing technology from her lab. 

Lewis is the recipient of the NSF Presidential Faculty Fellow Award (1994), the Brunaeur Award from the American Ceramic Society (2003), and the Langmuir Lecture Award from the American Chemical Society (2009), and the MRS Medal Award (2012).  She is a Fellow of the American Ceramic Society (2005), the American Physical Society (2007), the Materials Research Society (2011), and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2012). She serves on the Editorial Advisory Boards of Advanced Materials, Advanced Functional Materials and Soft Matter

Last Updated: 1/4/16